EOU Track and Field Garners 7 Academic All-District Athletes

LA GRANDE – (Release from Eastern Oregon University) College Sports Communicators (formerly known as College Sports Information Directors of America) announced the 2022-23 Academic All-District Men’s and Women’s Track and Field Teams on Wednesday. Eastern Oregon University was well represented with seven athletes being recognized for their combined work in the classroom and in competition.
Earning the award on the women’s side was Morgan Bayes (hurdles), Allie Best (javelin), Michelle Herbes (mid-distance), and Maggie Ledbetter (throws). Three men earned the honor as well: Tyler Jones (jumps), Moses McAninch (javelin), and Hunter Nichols (mid-distance). 

The CSC Academic All-America® program separately recognizes track & field/cross country honorees in four divisions — NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA.
All seven of the selections were NAIA National Championship Qualifiers for the 2023 outdoor season and all but two (Best and McAninch) were National Championship Qualifiers for the indoor season.

The group also includes four All-Americans. Ledbetter headlines that group as a national champion in the outdoor shot put and All-American in the indoor weight throw. Michelle Herbes earned All-American honors as a member of the 4 x 800-meter relay team at the outdoor National Championships. Tyler Jones earned All-American honors in the high jump this spring. Lastly, Hunter Nichols capped off an excellent indoor season with an All-American performance in the 1,000-meter run at the National Championships.
To learn more about CSC’s Academic All-District and All-America program and see the full list of selections, click the links above.