Baker High School’s Jason Edward named Assistant Coach of the Year

By on Thursday, May 26th, 2022 in More Top Stories Northeastern Oregon News

EASTERN OREGON – (Release from OSAA) Over 250 coaches and family members were honored Saturday, May 21st at the Club Level of Autzen Stadium at the University of Oregon during the 2022 Oregon Athletic Coaches Association Awards Banquet.  The banquet was highlighted with the presentation of several NFHS awards, including one National, eleven Section 8 and four State Coaches of the Year Awards (see attachment for complete list). This year we are pleased to provide a total of thirteen scholarships, totaling $19,000 to graduating seniors from the class of 2022. Since the start of our scholarship program, the OACA has awarded over $294,000 to scholarship recipients.

Pacific Office Automation, Platinum Sponsor of the OACA, sponsored the Banquet. Pacific Office Automation started in 1976 in Portland, Oregon, selling copy machines. Forty-three years later, they are a recognized leader in office management solutions, offering state-of-the-art technology and award-winning customer service, growing to 25 offices throughout Oregon, Washington, California, Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Idaho, and Colorado. Pacific Office Automation is dedicated to supporting Oregon communities and schools as they continually support academics and athletics in our state.

Please visit

Student/Athlete Scholarship Award Winners:

Delaney Buzzard, Harrisburg HS                   Tyson Roupp, Barlow HS

Braden Carson, La Grande HS                      Rocky Rub, Astoria HS

Kennedy Lease, Mazama HS                        Makaila Takahashi, Forest Grove HS

Spyre Nelson, Willamina HS                         Theo White, Weston-McEwen HS

OACA Director’s & President’s Scholarship Recipients:

Teagen DeForest, La Pine HS

Coach Dave Johnson Scholarship Recipients:

Emma Cordero, South Salem HS

Reece Dixon, Powder Valley, HS

Ellie Emery, Tigard HS

Zakcrye Holsey, Waldport HS

 A Number of Special Awards Went to the Following:

Assistant Coaches of the Year:

Jason Edwards, Baker HS

Gordon Hewitt, Mountainside HS

Monique Lankheet, Dallas HS

Eric Von Arx, Grant HS

Middle School Coach of the Year:

Chad Doherty, Heppner HS

NFF HS Academic Excellence Award:

Summit HS Football, Corben Hyatt

OACA Officials of the Year:

Danny Anson, Salem Wrestling

Steve Scott, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Margaret Sturza, Central Oregon Volleyball

OACA Media Award:

Kris Henry, Medford Mail

Oregon Athletic Officials Association Meritorious Sportsmanship Award:

Scott Dippel, Crater HS

Community Service Award:

Travis Boersma, Dutch Bros.

Gina Dhom, Willamette HS

Rob Younger Power of Influence Award: 

Todd Sahlfeld, Glencoe HS

OACA Dave Johnson Contributor Award:

Aimee Esplin, Adrian HS

OACA Marv Heater Distinguished Service Award: 

Brad Garrett, OSAA

YEARS OF SERVICE” AWARDS were announced and presented to coaches with 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50 & 55 Years of Service(see below)