Union & Baker County Fire Departments Receive Staffing Grants from State Fire Marshal

UNION & BAKER COUNTIES – The Oregon State Fire Marshal recently announced the recipients of the 2023 Wildfire Season Staffing Grants. In total, six million dollars, up to thirty-five thousand per grant, have been issued to 185 fire agencies across the state. Funds will go toward hiring additional firefighters for the season, with special emphasis given to smaller and volunteer run agencies. The recipients for Union and Baker counties are as follows:

  • La Grande FD
  • La Grande RFPD
  • Cove RFPD
  • Elgin RFPD
  • North Powder RFPD
  • Baker City FD
  • Powder River RFPD
  • Medical Springs RFPD
  • Huntington FD