OTEC to hold 2023 annual meeting at EOU on May 6

By on Friday, March 17th, 2023 in Eastern/Southeast Oregon News More Top Stories

Baker City (Released by OTEC)-Oregon Trail Electric Cooperative (OTEC) is excited to announce it will hold its 2023 Annual Meeting of the Membership on Saturday, May 6 at the Gilbert Event Center at Eastern Oregon University in La Grande.

Three positions on the OTEC Board of Directors are up for election. Election results for Position 1 (Union County), Position 2 (Baker County) and Position 3 (Harney County) will be announced during the Annual Meeting. Members will also vote on whether to revise OTEC’s bylaws. Board President Wayne Overton and Chief Executive Officer Les Penning will report on the state of your cooperative and OTEC Member Foundation Board President Charlene Chase and Executive Director Lea Hoover will also give an update on the charitable foundation.

Candidates on the ballot are:

Position 1 – Union County

                     Candidates:  Jeff D. Clark 

                                            Jeffry Zurbrick

Position 2 – Baker County

                      Candidates: Aletha Bonebrake– Incumbent

                                            Jamie Ostrander

Position 3 – Harney County

                      Candidates: Robert Cargill– Incumbent

Beginning April 6, OTEC member-owners should look for the formal notice of the meeting, election packets, and ballots in their mailboxes. Members will be automatically entered into a raffle for a $500 energy credit if they return their ballots by mail and are mailed before April 28. Every OTEC member-owners in all four districts is eligible and encouraged to vote.

All OTEC member-owners are invited to the in-person meeting, and there is no fee to attend. Doors will open at the Gilbert Event Center (located at 1 University Blvd in La Grande) at 8:30 a.m. The business meeting begins at 10:00 a.m., followed by a complimentary lunch. 

For those member-owners not able to attend, a livestream of the business meeting and the announcement of election results will be available at www.otec.coop and on OTEC’s Facebook page, with a recording of the meeting posted online afterward.

If you have questions, please call OTEC Communications at 541-524-2858 or visit www.otec.coop/annual-meeting-board-elections for more information and to access candidate profiles and bylaw revisions.

Your friends and neighbors at your member-owned cooperative cannot wait to see everyone at the Annual Meeting of the Membership!

About the cooperative

Oregon Trail Electric Cooperative (OTEC) is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric cooperative that serves over 60,000 residents in four counties in Eastern Oregon. Headquartered in Baker City, OTEC has district offices in Burns, John Day, and La Grande.