Mary Thiel of Joseph Named Sentinel to the 2023-2024 Oregon State FFA State Officer Team

OREGON – Hundreds of FFA students from across the state descended on the Deschutes Fair & Expo Center this past week during the 2023 State FFA Convention.  Among all attendees were many from here in Eastern Oregon who obtained state titles and/or state degrees, including Mary Thiel from Joseph High School who was named as Sentinel to the 2023-2024 Oregon State FFA State Officer Team. 

Also during the convention was the presentation 324 Oregon FFA State Degrees.  Of those 324 FFA members roughly 155 were from the eastern half of the state.  

Below is a list of different awards that were presented to local students during the convention. 

2023-2024 Oregon FFA State Officer Team

President: Jael Cruikshank from Bend

Vice President: Kylie Temple from Hermiston

Secretary: Ryan Mizee from Tillamook

Treasurer: Camille Peters from Elkton

Reporter: Alicia Venegas from Lost River

Sentinel: Mary Thiel from Joseph

Oregon FFA Career & Education Show Prize Winners

Chelsie McKay, Elgin ($50 from OWA)

Kaitlyn Gonzalez, Ontario (Corban University)

2023 State Job Interview

1st:  Kailee Macy -Culver

2nd Elayna Draper- Nyssa

3rd: Kelly Nelson- Pendleton

4th Paul Reed- Union

2023 State Farm Business Management

1st Nyssa

2nd Lost River

3rd Ontario

4th Dalles

2023 State Ag Issues

1st Mollala

2nd Hermiston

3rd Imbler

4th Sabin

2023 State Cooperative Quiz

1st Kendra Kuenzi- Silverton

2nd Madelyn Bunn- Dayton

3rd Isaiah Lemmon- Stanfield

4th Elena Peterson- North Clackamas

2023 State Parliamentary Procedure

1st Hermiston 

2nd Bend

3rd Oakland

4th Silverton

2023 State Conduct of Chapter Meetings

1st Hermiston 

2nd Cove

3rd Sutherlin

4th Dayton

State Star in Ag Placement

Ian Goodrich- Joseph

State Star in Agriscience

Alexandria Peters- Ontario

2023 State Prepared Public Speaking

1st Kylie Temple- Hermiston 

2nd Shayla Edge- North Clackamas

3rd Peyton Rawe- Tillamook

4th Tress Geyer- Pleasant Hill

2023 Oregon FFA Ag Marketing Plan 


State Degree Recipients from East Oregon by location

The full list of State Degree Recipients can be found at


Ben Coburn

Weston Bryant

Weston Downing


Analeesa Thomas

Grace Johnson

Kassidy Maupin

Liam McLain

Mackenzie King


Jake Lindsey


Halleigh Baker

Sierra Otley

Tayleur Baker

Taylor Joyce


Lillian Wallis

Mason Murdock

McKenzie Rose

Riley Hampton

Taylor Hoffman


Alexis Moore

Chelsie McKay

Corrina Smith

Dakota Anderson

Jodie Campbell

Lydia Hasbell

Owen Johnson 

Rylee Sandland

Ty McLoughlin


Alexandra Rowley

Brandon Charlton

Codi Cunningham

Lily Royes

Madison Wigen

Makenna Sutor

Quincee Zacharias

Tanner Kesecker

Tegan Evans

Trey Stewart


Bennett Johnson

Brocc Rictor

Wyatt Marchek


Kathrine Wilson

Paul Linsdey


Cadence Cooley

Jace Wallace

Laura Meyers

Derek Moore

Kyle Brandt


Alex Patton

Avonlea Crook

Clinton Tarvin

Eli Mola

Gracie Howell 

Gwynn Corcoran

Henry Treat

Jackson Fisher

Jared McKaig

Justin Frost

Kale Bingaman

Reece Gorham

Trevor Treat


Caren Cardenas

Klarisza Gomez

Leah Mueller


Andrew Beachy

Cooper Nave

Jesse Larrison

Kane Johnson

Makayla Miles

Nethanial Bosch

Owen Gorham

Payton Hess

Rhyson Collier

Zander Walker


Elijah Bisenium

Gabriel Zamora

KaraAnn Akers 


Hunter Bingham

Jacee Thompson 

Jodi Bingham

Mady Leggett

Paige Marlia


Ambrie Draper

Belle Wagstaff

Brenna Kesler

Dawson Richards

Elayna Draper

Ellianan Munk

Emma Goldthorpe

Garrison Page

London Hartley

Magan Ward

Spencer Romans


Alexandria Peters

Alondra Sosa

Baylie Santoyo

Brienne Kemble

Brooke Campbell

Evesha Brown

Guadalupe Arizmendi

Maibelyn Herrea

Matteo Walker

Preston McBride

Pricillia Esquivel

Roderick McAuley

Whitney Harris


Alison Spratling

Chloe Gray

Claire Stratton

Crae Campbell

Freddie Schreier 

Karsen Davis

Kelli Nelson

Rylee Demianew


Carley Hoeft


Aubrey Gallimore

Coleton Chetwood

Cooper Gover

James Denson

Maggie Stranbro

Rylee Whitney 


Brooke Teel

Cayden Howard

Jacee Winegar

Trey Brown


Hayden Chastain

Jayda Blackburn

Nick Baxter

Shelby Tobin


Braxton Bair

Brooks Haueter

Charlie Lamb

Colten Stepleton

John Saunders

Kacie Jacobs

Kinsey Meisinger

Levi Justus

Luke McGourty

Madi Steele

Sydney Hager

Trenton Thomas

Trevor Bates

Will Friend


Caiden Dennis

EvaLena Lieuallen

Gabrielle Fertello

Below are congratulations posted on Facebook from individual schools.

From Union FFA 

Congratulations to:

Paul Reed – Diversified Crop State Winner

Delaney Klebaum- Diversified Livestock State finalist

Lane Petersen- Swine Production State Finalist

Paul Reed- Forestry Production State Finalist

Traegen Pence- Landscape Management State finalist 

Paul Reed – Speciality Crop State Finalist

From Elgin FFA

National Chapter Application, completed by Dakota Anderson, received Gold and will be proceeding to Nationals!

Lydia Hasbell’s Secretary’s Book received Silver

Chelsie McKay’s Scrapbook received Silver

Elgin FFA recognized as a Superior Chapter

From Cove FFA

2nd at State

Conduct of Chapter Meeting (freshman) 

P: Emma Carson

VP: Esther Elmer 

S: Jaxson Hines

T: Gracie Tucker 

R: Kendra Mansveld 

S: Jordan Davis

A: Taylor Weishaar

Tanner Rovey- Top 8 Sophomore Public Speaking

Patrick Frisch- State Winner: Forage Production

Collin Rovey – State Winner: Goat Production

Gavin Bakker- State Winner: Sheep Production

From Enterprise FFA

Congratulations to…

Harlie Stein Agricultural Processing

Maclane Melville Fiber and Oil crop production 

Morgan Cameron: Agricultural Sales

Madison Wigan Equine Entrepreneurship 

State Finalists 

Codi Cunningham Diversified Ag Production 

Maclane Melville Grain Production